Vance Contributor Proposal [15 August 2022 - 15 September 2022]

Hello community,

I’m Vance. During ETH Paris I had a chance to learn about DxDao from Zett and Venky which eventually lead me to contributing to Swapr.

I’m a full stack developer with 5 years of commercial experience (mostly software house & banking industry) with wide tech stack, from which most relevant to Swapr are React, Nodejs, Typescript, CI/CD, Docker, Solidity, Web3 libs (hardhat, ethers, ethersproject) and some Graph Protocol (I’ll skip irrelevant tech like Google Cloud, AWS, SQL, etc.).

As some of you may already know, due to legal obligations that I have I need to remain anonymous until I feel comfortable with quitting my day job and going full-time. Even though I can see that full-time contributors in DxDao are comfortable with working (and earning) fully on-chain, I still want to see whether this form of employment is for me and - what’s most important - whether I belong here. I’m aware that this situation may be uncomfortable with some of you but I also hope that all perks that come with working in DeFi (including privacy) are not only buzzwords. Having this opportunity I’d like to thank Adam, Venky & Zett for giving me benefit of doubt by allowing me to contribute in this way.

Timeframe:
1 month
Starting at 15th of August

Scope:
I assisted Adam on Expeditions Event implementation (API & UI) by introducing swagger docs that are consumend by front-end, doing reviews and fixing bugs. I made some suggestions on how ‘gamification’ user experience may be improved and I’m more than happy to participate in further discussions regarding the process.

While working on front-end I fixed an issue with undesired logs coming from external lib that spammed the console which I believe will make devs life easier.