Eastern Caribbean Central bank wants to digitize their EC dollar

Hey all,
There is a new trend that Central Banks want to digitize their currencies.

As an economist I think this is fabulous.
I also think that once the EC dollar is digitized that a whole new set of possibilities and use cases will appear.

You can the create DAOs in the Easter Caribbean Currency region (8 islands) that use this money pegged to the fiat money.

In this post on Linkedin I ask some questions about this fascinating trend.https://www.linkedin.com/feed/update/urn:li:activity:6535724183857565696

My question to you is: what do you think this will mean for evolving daos in the Caribbean region?

PS: Barbados has already digitized its dollar through the Fintech company Bitt.com.

And now they are bringing it to another level.

PS2: i know these 8 islands quite well. Because I’m studying their economies and have all the data.

1 Like

I’ve mentioned to @Luuk and Ruben the idea of a bonding curve (or multiple curves) that issue a token against various Carribean fiat currencies. It could become a pan-regional currency that removes the need for individual national currencies while still maintaining their value/sovereignty. I see a lot of potentially from mixing/utilizing baskets of goods w/ automated market making systems to ultimately innovate beyond traditional banking systems (which are typically Western, derived from a history of colonial oppression).

Bonding curves for reference:

1 Like

Although I don’t exactly know what a bonding curve is - need to read the primer on it - I think a basket of currencies is a great idea.

A small island like Curacao has Holland, USA, Colombia and Venezuela as main trading partners.

So we need to have the Euro, US Dollar, Colombian Peso and Venezuelan Bolivar as currencies in our basket.

We could create a spreadsheet of these currencies for past 5 years to see how the basket has gained value or decreased in value. This canbe used asa pilot.

1 Like